Control recurring billing
Overview
Use this feature to control recurring billing (the automatic renewal system) for a specific subscription, limiting the number of future payments, and preventing automated and manual renewals. Stopping automatic recurring billing does not cancel the subscription unless you also check the Cancel subscription when automatic billing ends option. Otherwise, customers have the option of using their subscription beyond the current billing cycle, provided that they purchase renewals manually.
By using this feature you can:
Stop automatic recurring billing for a subscription either immediately or at a certain time in the future/after a number of billing cycles.
Cancel manual renewal emails for the subscription for which automatic recurring billing was stopped after a specific number of billing cycles and prevent the customers from renewing the subscription both manually and automatically after the last payment is made.
Availability
You can stop automatic billing for:
Active subscriptions
Expired subscriptions
Past due subscriptions
Subscriptions generated for products purchased with a payment method that supports recurring billing, such as credit and debit cards, PayPal and Direct Debit
Auto-renewal (automatic billing) is not available for:
Lifetime subscriptions
Expired subscriptions with the expiration deadline in the past (before the moment when you attempt to re-enable recurring billing)
Stop automatic recurring billing
To stop automatic recurring billing (auto-renewal):
Go to Subscriptions management.
Search for the subscription and edit its settings.
Click Stop automatic billing.
Enter the number of billing cycles to cancel the subscription after.
Enable the Cancel subscription when automatic billing ends option.
Click Apply.
Once disabled, you can switch it back on, provided that payment data is available.
Options
Stop automatic billing:
Now - This setting comes into effect at the end of the subscription's current billing cycle. If you also want to disable the subscription when it expires, check the Cancel subscription when automatic billing ends option. 2Checkout disables the automatic renewal system immediately after you click Apply and transitions the subscription to manual renewal payments. 2Checkout will no longer charge the customer automatically for the next billing cycle (when the automatic renewal of the subscription was scheduled). This option enables you to Send a notification email to the customer providing subscription level information about the automated recurring billing settings. When the Now option is selected, customers receive manual renewal emails according to the subscription renewal configuration and can use the links provided in the messages to purchase renewals. In addition, during the ordering process, customers will also have the option of re-enabling the automatic renewal system.
After a specified number of billing cycles. If you also want to disable the subscription when it expires, check the Cancel subscription when automatic billing ends option. The 2Checkout system stops automatic recurring billing after a specific number of billing cycles. Stopping automated recurring billing for subscriptions after a number of billing cycles cancels any manual renewal emails set to be sent to customers associated with the subscriptions according to the global or per-product renewal configurations. When recurring billing/the renewal system is disabled for a subscription, the 2Checkout system will no longer attempt to send the manual renewal messages to the customer using it. For subscriptions with the automatic recurring billing disabled after a number of billing cycles, the manual renewal link won't be visible to customers when they log into their myAccount platform.
FAQ
Last updated
Was this helpful?